Once Upon a Dream: appreciating Lana Del Rey.

Image   It’s Wednesday, which means it’s time for #WomancrushWednesday posts, this will be one of the rare times I ever post anything of the sort-and today’s appreciating Lana Del Rey. Not for her figure or face (not entirely, at least), but because of her artistry. Sincerely, the woman is something straight from the Silver Screen and simply is a woman from a different time – and I mean that in the absolute best way. Yes, we can talk about her sophisticated, post-modern French nobility looks, starlet mane, and fashion sense but let’s look at her voice, shall we? She sounds like if Angelina Jolie sang, and to me that is…

Image

…fantastic.

 

Image  Her version of “Once Upon A Dream,” absolutely entices me. It’s mysterious, magical and sultry. It provides a begging for more in me, and it gives such a longing for something lost that you can’t help but want to escape to the sound of her voice. Sincerely, if this makes it into Disney’s Maleficent, I will shit my pants out of happiness.

Now, yes we all know Summertime Sadness (and it’s 400,000,000 covers and remixes,) and again, yes it’s good. But let’s appreciate this woman for what she is: Something rare for pop music. I hate pop, I do. I fucking hate pop music un-ironically played. It gives me hives, shivers and swelters me into a rage. But not Lana. Weirdly, Lana Del Rey has some kind of belle’provocateur sense about her. And I appreciate it, incredibly so. Plus, look her Americana 50s look, smoking, drinking, and as always

Image

…fantastic.

Image

PLUS, LOOK AT HER FUCKING DOG.

 

 

EDIT: HOLY CRAP, B|B|N HAS REACHED ONE HUNDRED POSTS! HAPPY ONE HUNDRED POSTS, EVERYONE! Thank to Lana, too.

Leave a Reply

